Curtis on Tour: Dover String Quartet with Guest Cellist Brook Speltz

Venue: Streaming Online

Location: Streaming Online

Ticket Price: $30

7:00 PM


R. Danielpour String Quintet (“A Shattered Vessel”)
Co-commission by Chamber Music Monterey Bay

F. Schubert String Quintet in C Major, op. 163, D956

About the Artists


Learn about this concert’s composers and their works. Gain deeper insights into the music with Kai Christiansen, noted San Francisco musicologist and founder of an online chamber music exploratorium.

Kai will talk briefly about each piece before it is played by the Dover, including an interview with composer, Richard Danielpour.


String Quintet (“A Shattered Vessel”) was co-commissioned by the Curtis Institute of Music with Music from Angel Fire (lead commissioner), Chamber Music Monterey Bay, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Lake Champlain Chamber Music Festival, and Linton Chamber Music.

This String Quintet, scored for two violins, viola, and two cellos was completed on December 31, 2018. The subtitle “A Shattered Vessel,” refers to a great mystery of life, that in order for something of value to live, something else must often die. In this way death can be understood not only as a part of life, but also as a part of nature. The work is also about healing. The first movement subtitled “Things Fall Apart,” depicts a crisis and a struggle. The second movement, “Harvest of Sorrows,” reflects the natural mourning process that occurs after a crisis and a loss. The third movement, “The Healing Fields,” is a dance of renewal and regained strength. The fourth and final movement, “Homeward,” is a hymn of thanks and gratitude for the very gift of life with both its joys and its sorrows. This work is dedicated to Ida Kavafian.

– Richard Danielpour